Big Shows on Tap for Clinton County Speedway

Mill Hall, PA – The Clinton County Fair Association is pleased to announce some big shows scheduled for late September and early October to close out the 2020 season.  The Fair Association took over the weekly operations of the speedway and has held 10 races since opening on June 26th.

The first big race will take place on Saturday September 19th featuring the RaceSaver Sprint Cars and the Pro Stocks.  The Nittany Championship for the RaceSaver Sprint Cars is triple sanctioned by the Laurel Highlands Sprint Series, PA Sprint Series, and the Allegheny Sprint Series.   “We are expecting drivers from all three series and some of the best RaceSaver drivers ranked in the state and the nation,” says Race Promoter Jason McCahan.  “The event will pay $1,000 to the winner of the 40 lap main event.  Drivers will qualify through time trials and heat races.” Non-Qualifiers will also compete in a complete feature if more than 45 cars are in attendance. 

The current national RaceSaver Sprint Car points leader, Garrett Bard of Wells Tannery has been a regular at the speedway and has one victory so far this season at the 3/8th mile oval.  John Walp of Wapwallopen and Larry McVey of Bordentown, NJ are ranked second and third respectively behind Bard in the State of Pennsylvania’s point standing and have been contenders at Clinton County Speedway.  Bard is also the current point leader at Clinton County with Scott Lutz of Jonestown in second, Dale Schweikart of Linden in third, Dylan Proctor of Lock Haven in fourth and Jared Zionkowski of Wyalusing rounding out the top five.  Schweikart currently has two wins this season. Bard, Zionkowski, Jeffrey Weaver of Lock Haven currently have one victory each.    

In addition to the Sprint Cars on September 19th, the Pro Stocks will compete in the C.W. Smith Memorial paying $1,800 to win.  Smith from Williamsport competed in both ARCA and NASCAR.  “We are grateful for the opportunity to work with the Smith Family to honor C.W. and his racing accomplishments,” says McCahan.  The Pro Stocks will compete in a 40 lap main event and will also qualify with time trials and heat races.

“Our Pro-Stocks have been very competitive this year,” adds McCahan.  Seven different drivers have visited victory lane including Robert Tressler of Lock Haven (2), Bradley Benton of Duncansville (2), AJ Stroup of Evandale (2), Kevin VanAmburg of Lock Haven, Tommy Dawson of Wapwallopen, Brandon Moser of Millerstown, and Noah Jensen of Nescopeck.

The two events will be the largest races for the Pro Stocks and RaceSaver Sprint Cars.  Also, on the program will be the 270 Micro Sprints and the 4-Cylinders. Gates will open at 1PM with hot laps at 4PM and racing beginning at 4:30PM.  Sunday, September 20th will be a rain date.

On Saturday, October 3rd, the Super Late Models will compete in a $5,000 to win event presented by Strouse Electric of Bellefonte.  It has been several years since the speedway hosted a Super Late Model race.  The last large race of this magnitude was hosted in 2017 when Andrew Yoder of Middleburg won over a field of 50 plus cars.  The event will be the largest payout of the season for the speedway. Luke Hoffner of Turbotville is the all-time Super Late Model feature winner with 40 career wins.   

The Pro Stocks and 270 Micro Sprints will be in competition paying $500 to win each feature.  The 4 Cylinders will run under the SDRCA rules package and pay $750 to win.   

Gates will open at 1PM with hot laps at 4PM and racing begins at 4:30PM.  A rain date is set for Saturday, October 10th

Strouse Electric is a family owned and operated business located in Bellefonte. They have been serving Central PA since 1981 with residential and industrial electrical services. 

For the latest speedway information, visit the speedway’s website at or follow the speedway on Facebook.