Ohl Claims Victory at the Line

Mill Hall, PA – Jeremy Ohl of Jersey Shore claimed a thrilling victory on Friday Night in the Limited Late Model division at the Clinton County Speedway.   It was his second win of the season.  Chase Walker won the 270 Micro Sprints; AJ Stroup won the Pro Stocks and Hunter Flook won the 4 Cylinder feature event.

JR Toner of Bellefonte took the lead at the drop of the green flag in the Limited Late Model feature event.  By lap number 5, Toner was leading Ohl, Jim Yoder, Matt Cochran, and Ben Whitaker.  Toner continued to pace the field, with Ohl running in a close second place.  The caution came out on lap number ten for Matt Cochran.  By the midpoint of the race, Toner was leading with Ohl, Yoder, Whitaker, and Joe Loffredo in the top five.  Ohl tried on several occasions to pass Toner.

It wasn’t until lap number 19 until he successfully made the pass.  However, Ohl’s car drifted high on lap number 22, allowing Toner to reclaim the lead and appear to be on track to win his first feature of the year.  With two laps to go, Toner lead Ohl, Andrew Yoder, Jim Yoder, and Whitaker.   On the white flag lap, Toner entered turns one and two, with a slight lead over Ohl.  The duo entered into laps three and four in a fierce battle.  Toner missed his mark exiting turn number four, allowing Ohl to get along side of him in the race to the checkered flag.  Ohl got by him to win by .242 seconds.  Andrew Yoder was third, Ben Whitaker was fourth, and Jim Yoder was fifth.  Sixth through tenth were Matt Cochran, Joe Loffredo, Denny Fourney, Tim Luben and Len Stroud.  Heats were won by Cameron Benyou and Matt Cochran.

Jason Smith of Cogan Station and Kris Orwig of Mill Hall brought the field of Pro Stocks to the green flag.  Orwig took the early lead.  Fourth place starter AJ Stroup powered into the lead by lap number four.   By lap number five, Stroup lead Orwig, Brandon Moser, Johnny Bouse and Tommy Dawson.  A caution came out on lap ten for a spin by Noah Kissinger.  Stroup brought the field back to racing action while Moser and Bouse battled for second and third.  A three car accident occurred on lap 13, when Richie Fye, Noah Kissinger and Robert Tressler tangled in turn three.   On the final restart, Stroup held off Moser for the win.  Bouse settled for third with Dawson and AJ Hoffman completing the top five.  Sixth through tenth were Jason Smith, Noah Jensen, Kris Orwig Sr., Gary Mellott, and Rich Fye.  Heat races were won by Stroup and Smith.

In the 270 Micros Steven Fernburg and Cory Stabley started on the front row.  Stable took the early lead.  Eight place starter Chase Walker worked his way up through the field and took the lead on lap number six followed by John Roberts.  By lap number twelve, Walker led Roberts, Timmy Bittner, Bobby Sanso and Matt Fernsler.   Walker held off Roberts to claim his first career victory.  Second was Roberts followed by Bittner, Sando and Fernsler.  Sixth through tenth were Hunter Zimmerman, Tom Barkes, Lonnie McConahy, Mathew Dixson, and Ian Heaps.  Heat races were won by Sanso, Walker and Bittner. 

In Four Cylinder competition, Keith Haagen and Hunter Flook started on the front row.  Flook took the lead at the drop of the green flag with Chloe Smith and Tyler Stahl running in the top three.  Ninth place starter, Mike

Hepler marched his way to the front as Coty Maines and Kyler Stahl entered into the top five.   Flook lead every lap to claim his fourth win of the season.  Smith finished second but failed post-race inspection.   Hepler was credited with second followed by Coty Maines, Kyler Stahl and Bryun Hackenberg. Sixth through tenth were Donald Wynn, Andrew Rickets, Anthony Potter, Adman Harris, and Sam Creveling.  Heat races were won by Haagen, Troy Bennett, and Flook. 

The Clinton County Speedway will take off this Friday, July 29th to allow for set up of the 49th annual Clinton County Fair.   During fair week the speedway will host two events.  The first will be on Wednesday, August 3 featuring the 270 Micros, the 600 Micros, Pro Stock and Four Cylinders.  General Admission to the speedway will be a can food donation to the Central PA Food Bank.   Then on Friday, August 5th the Limited Late Models, Pro Stocks 270 Micros and Four Cylinders will be in competition along with one on one spectator street drag racing.  Gates will open each day at 5PM, Hot Laps are at 7PM and Racing begins at 7:30. For the latest speedway information, visit clintoncountyspeedway.com or follow the speedway on our social media pages including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. 

LIMITED LATE MODELS: 1. Jeremy Ohl, 2. JR Toner, 3. Andrew Yoder, 4. Ben Whitaker, 5. Jim Yoder, 6. Matt Cochran, 7. Joe Loffredo, 8. Denny Fourney, 9. Tim Luben, 10. Len Stroud Sr., 11. Cameron Benyou, 12. Kyle Bauchman, 13. Kaiden Bard, 14. Maddox Smith, 15. Jennifer Lesher

PRO STOCKS: 1. AJ Stroup, 2. Brandon Moser, 3. Johnny Bouse, 4. Tommy Dawson, 5. AJ Hoffman, 6. Jason Smith, 7. Noah Jensen, 8. Kris Orwig Sr, 9. Gary Mellott, 10. Rich Fye, 11. Noah Kissinger, 12. Robert Tressler, 13. Robert Tressler, DNS Todd Geyer

270 MICROS: 1. Chase Walker, 2. John Roberts, 3. Timmy Bittner, 4. Bobby Sanso, 5. Matt Fernsler, 6. Hunter Zimmerman, 7. Tom Barkes, 8. Lonnie McConahy, 9. Matthew Dixson, 10. Ian Heaps, 11. Steve Fernburg Jr, 12. Dustin Young, 13. Logan Hammaker, 14. Cory Stabley, 15. Jeff Haefke, 16. Michael Petock, 17. Jillian Maurer, 18. Mac Wert, DNS Larry Dickey, Evan Dickey

FOUR CYLINDERS: 1. Hunter Flook, 2. Mike Hepler, 3. Coty Maines, 4. Kyler Stahl, 5. Bryun Hackenberg, 6. Donald Wynn, 7. Andrew Ricketts, 8. Anthony Potter, 9. Adam Harris, 10. Sam Creveling, 11. Toby Maines, 12. Robert Dorman, 13. Tim Muthler, 14. Keith Haagen, 15. Jake Winchester, 16. Troy Bennett, 17. Joey Snook, 18. Blake Snyder, 19. Kayla Leigey, DNS Nick Snook