Perchak and VanAmburg win Mid-Week Special at Clinton County Speedway

Mill Hall, PA – Ross Perchak of Hazelton claimed the mid-week special at the Clinton County Speedway on Wednesday night.  The races were scheduled to coincide with the annual Clinton County Fair that was cancelled earlier in the year.  Lock Haven’s Kevin VanAmburg claimed his first victory of the season in Pro Stock Competition.   Cory Brungard of Montoursville won his first career 600 Micro Sprint feature event and Blake Snyder won the Four Cylinder main event.  

Bobby Sanso of Jersey shore led the opening laps of the 270 Micro Sprint main event.   An early race caution slowed the field, with Sanso, Timmy Bitner, Jeffrey Weaver, Perchak and Nick Whitesel running in the top five.  Weaver and Perchak passed Bittner as the two tried to chase down Sanso.   At the race’s midway point, Perchak took the runner up position away from Weaver.  Sanso continued to lead until lap number 10 when Perchak made the winning pass.  A last lap caution allowed Weaver to pass Sanso for the runner up position.   Perchak, who started ninth, claimed the $500 to win event and his 8th career victory at the speedway over Weaver, Sanso, Troy Whitesel, and Wyatt Houtz.  Timmy Bittner, Dan Wertman Hunter Zimmerman, Kyler Stahl, and Shaun Musser completed the top ten. Heat races were won by Weaver and Houtz.

Kevin VanAmburg started on the outside of the front row alongside Rich Fye of Lock Haven for the start of the 15 lap Pro Stock Feature event.   VanAmburg jumped into the front spot to lead the first eight laps.   The top six drivers were all in contention for the win.  Brandon Moser passed VanAmburg to lead laps nine and ten, with VanAmburg leading the eleventh circuit.   Moser once again passed VanAmburg for the top spot to lead lap number 12, with Noah Jenson AY Schilling and Tommy Dawson running in the top five.   The top two ran side by side for several laps and swapped positions for the lead on the exit of every corner of the speedway. VanAmburg passed Moser once again on lap number 13 and held on with a margin of victory of .49 seconds.  Moser finished second followed by Noah Jenson, Tommy Dawson, and AY Schilling completing the top five.  Sixth through tenth were Rich Fye, Robert Tressler, Arty Stephens, Rooster Peters, and Brad Benton.  Heat races were won by Dawson and Moser.

Corey Brungard of Montoursville started on the front row of the 600 Micro Sprints feature event.  The caution flag waived after completion of the first lap when Trevor Teats spun in turn two.   Brungard brought the field to the green flag for the restart with Sierra Hauck, Jefferey Weaver, Dermot Thompson, and Cody Hauck in the top five.   The caution waived again on lap number nine, when three cars came together.   Brungard held off Sierra Hauck for his first career 600 feature event win.   Cody Hauck finished third, Jeffery Weaver was fourth and Johnny Smith completed the top five.  Sixth through tenth were Tyson Mowery, Jeff Gyuina, Timmy Bittner, Trevor Teats and Derek Swartz.  Heat race winners were Gyuina and J. Smith.

Blake Snyder charged from the second row to lead the first lap of the Four Cylinder feature.   Snyder lead Tyler Watson, Sterling Kepner, Michael Boring and Maddox Smith at the completion of the fifth lap. Kepner moved into the runner up position on lap number eight and made the pass for the lead on lap number ten.  Kepner and Snyder encountered lapped traffic as the white flag waived.  Snyder made the pass for the win on the final lap with Walton and Smith both each advancing forcing Kepner back to the fourth spot and Michal Luther completing the top five.   Sixth through tenth were Chris Orwig, Skylar Witchley, Michael Luther, Zachery Rill, and Stringfellow.  Heat races were won by Smith and Walton.

270 Micro Sprints: 1. Ross Perchak 2. Jeffrey Weaver 3. Bobby Sanso 4. Troy Whitesel 5. Wyatt Houtz 6. Timmy Bittner 7. Dan Wertman 8. Hunter Zimmerman 9. Kyler Stahl 10. Shaun Musser 11. Mitchell Holden 12. Jerrod Heil 13. Levi Brungard 14. Nick Whitesel 15. Matthew Dixson 16. Buddy Kramer 17. James Bilger 18. Sean Stoltz 19 Brian Bender

Pro Stocks: 1. Kevin VanAmburg 2. Brandon Moser 3. Noah Jensen 4. Tommy Dawson 5. AY Schilling 6 Rich Fye 7. Robert Tressler 8. Rooster Peters 9. Bradly Benton 10. Arty Stephens

600 Micro Sprints 1. Corey Brungard 2. Sierra Weaver 3. Cody Hauck 4. Jeffrey Weaver 5. Johnny Smith 6. Tyson Mowery 7. Jeff Gyuina 8. Timmy Bittner 9. Trevor Teats 10. Derek Swartz 11. Dermot Thompson 12. Mitchell Holden 13. Mikey Smith 14. Josh Beamer

4 Cylinders: 1. Blake Snyder 2. Tyler Watson 3. Maddox Smith 4. Sterling Kepner 5. Michael Luther 6. Curtis Orwig 7. Skyler Witchley 8 Michael Boring 9. Zachery Rill 10. Johnathon Stringfellow 11. Jimmy Deloizer 12. Kenney Courter 13. Karl Strouse DNS Kyle Strouse, Kyle Workman 


Jason McCahan