Yoder Returns to Victory Lane at Clinton County Speedway

August 15, 2020

Mill Hall, PA – Andrew Yoder of Middleburg led the final two laps of the Limited Late Model feature on Friday night to claim his third win of the season at the Clinton County Speedway.   Noah Jensen of Nescopeck picked up his first win of the year in the Pro Stock Division, while Jeffrey Weaver of Lock Haven in the 270s, Josh Beamer of Picture Rocks in the 600s and Blake Snyder in the 4 Cylinder Division were repeat winners. 

Jamin Chapman and Kevin Probst of Renovo were the front row starters of the 25 lap Limited Late Models main event.  Probst took the lead as third place starter Joe Lusk of Jersey Shore moved into the runner up position.   Probst and Lusk pulled away from the field, as Williamsport’s Matt Cochran, Chapman and Yoder were in a heated battle for the third, fourth and fifth positions.   On lap number eight, Yoder moved into the fourth position and Mike Smith of Renovo moved into the top five.  At the race’s midway point, Probst had a sizeable lead over Lusk, Cochran, Yoder, and Smith.  The leaders began to encounter lapped traffic on lap number fifteen allowing Lusk and Yoder to catch Probst and reduce his lead.   On lap number nineteen, Yoder passed Lusk for the runner up position, but still trailed Probst by five car-lengths.   With the completion of each lap, Yoder gained ground on Probst and made the pass as the field was coming to the flag stand for the white flap.   The caution flag came out on the final lap, which bunched the field for a one lap shoot-out.  Yoder smoothly navigated the four corners of the speedway to claim the victory.  Joe Lusk passed Probst to claim the second position.  Matt Cochran finished fourth and Mike Smith was fifth.  Sixth through tenth were Chaz Buchinsky, Joe Loffredo, Jamin Chapman, Matt Adams, and Devin Frey.  Heat race winners were Lusk and Probst. 

Corey Long and Rich Fye of Lock Haven paced the field for the start of the Pro Stock feature event.  Long took the lead at the drop of the green flag.  Noah Jensen of Nescopeck took advantage of some early race caution and advanced from his ninth place starting spot.   Jensen made a pass for the lead at the completion of lap number four and used the low side of the speedway to maintain the top position.   At the halfway point, Jensen led Long, Tommy Dawson, AY Schilling and Johnny Bouse.  The caution flag waved on lap number 10 when Todd Geyer Sr, spun.  On the restart, Jensen maintained his preferred line at the bottom of the speedway and cruised to his first win of the year.   Dawson took the runner up position over Long, Schilling and Bouse.  Kevin VanAmburg finished sixth, Rich Fye was seventh, Rooster Peters was eight, Geyer was ninth and Noah Kissinger finished tenth.  Long and Schilling won the qualifying events.  

The 270 Micro Sprint feature had 23 cars take the green flag.  Two separate cautions occurred on the opening lap in attempts to start the main event.  Doug Reinard led the first circuit before Lock Haven’s Jeff Weaver took control of the field.  The red flag waived on lap four when several cars wrecked in turns three and four and blocked the track.  On the restart, Weaver led Bobby Sanso, Timmy Bittner, Troy Whitesel and Reinard.  Bitner moved into the runner up position on lap number nine.  On the white flag lap, Whitesel moved into the third spot and Denny Rinehimer advanced into the top five.   At the checkered flag it was Weaver, Bittner, Whitesel, Sanso and Rinehimer.  Sixth through tenth were Dan Wertman, Ethan Spotts, Kyler Stahl, Mitchell Holden, and Skyler Granger.  Qualifiers were won by Bittner, Whitesel and Stahl.

Josh Beamer of Picture Rocks advanced from this third place starting spot to take the lead of the 600 Micro Sprint event by then conclusion of lap number two.  The race’s only caution flag waived on lap number nine when Lauren Huffman stopped on the track.  On the restart Beamer led Cody Hauck, AJ Bast, Johnny Smith, and Tyson Mowery.  With three laps remaining, Smith and Mowery passed Bast to take over third and fourth position.   The win was the second of the year for Beamer, over Hauck, Smith Mowery and Bast.  Sixth through tenth were Jeffrey Weaver, Trevor Teats, Derek Swartz, Timmy Bittner, and Corey Brungard.  Heat races were won by Hauck and Mowery. 

Sterling Kepner of Muncy led the initial laps of the 4 Cylinder feature event.  On lap number four, Lee Zook made a pass for the top position.  With five laps complete it was Zook leading Kepner, Blake Snyder, William Kephart, and Tyler Watson.   Zook worked his way through lapped traffic and appeared to have winning car.  However, the caution flag waived on lap number 10 to bunch the field on Zook’s rear bumper.   On the final lap of the race, Zook and Snyder battled for the lead, the two cars touched but raced hard to the checked flag with Snyder taking the win from Zook.  Kepner finished third, followed by Watson and Kephart.  Sixth through tenth were Kennedey Courter, Skylar Witchley, Sean Wise, Brett Shirk and Kyle Strouse.   Qualifying race winners were Chris Small, Snyder and Maddox Smith. 

The Clinton County Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, August 21st with a five division show featuring the RaceSaver Sprint Cars, Pro Stocks, 270s, 600s and Four Cylinders.  Racing will begin at 7:30PM.  The following week, the speedway will feature the Limited Late Models for the Lenny Stroud Jr. Memorial event paying $1,200 to win.  Every division that night will have bonus money to win.  For more information, visit www.clintoncountyspeedway.com or visit the speedway on Facebook


Limited Late Models: 1. Andrew Yoder 2. Joe Lusk 3. Kevin Probst 4. Matt Cochran 5. Mike Smith 6. Chaz Buchinsky 7. Joe Loffredo 8. Jamin Chapman 9. Matt Adams 10. Devin Frey 11. Tim Luben 12. Nick Loffredo

Pro Stocks: 1. Noah Jensen 2. Tommy Dawson 3. Cory Long 4. AY Schilling 5. Johnny Bouse 6. Kevin VanAmburg 7. Rich Fye 8. Rooster Peters 9. Todd Geyer Sr. 10. Noah Kissinger 11. Marc Bitler 12. Wayne Shaffer 13. Bradly Benton 14. Timothy Shirk  DQ-Brandon Musser

270 Micro Sprints: 1. Jeffrey Weaver 2. Timmy Bittner 3. Troy Whitesel 4. Bobby Sanso 5. Denny Rinehimer 6. Dan Wertman 7. Ethan Spotts 8. Kyler Stahl 9. Mitchell Holden 10. Skyler Granger 11. Greg Robinson 12. John Roberts 13. Mike Wentch 14. Levi Brungard 15. Shaun Musser 16. Matthew Dixson 17. Nick Whitesel 18. Doug Reinard 19. James Bilger 20. Hunter Zimmerman 21. Gary Keister 22. Jerrod Heil DNS-Buddy Kramer

600 Micro Sprints: 1. Josh Beamer 2. Cody Hauck 3. Johnny Smith 4. Tyson Mowery 5. AJ Bast 6. Jeffrey Weaver 7. Trevor Teats 8. Derek Swartz 9. Timmy Bittner 10. Corey Brungard 11. Jeff Gyuina 12. Mitchell Holden 13. Eric Leonard 14. Alan Rhodes 15. Lauren Hoffman

4 Cylinders: 1. Blake Snyder 2. Lee Zook 3. Sterling Kepner 4. Tyler Watson 5. William Kephart 6. Kennedey Courter 7. Skyler Witchley 8. Shawn Wise 9. Brett Shirk 10. Kyle Strouse 11. Michael Luther 12. Dustin Miller 13. Chelsie Harris 14. Arty Stephens 15. Maddox Smith 16. Chris Small 17. Scott Englert 18. Johnathon Stringfellow 19. Michael Boring DNS Zachary Rill, Bryan Strouse, Kyle Workman