Zionkowski Takes Checkered Flag Clinton County Speedway

August 8, 2020

Mill Hall, PA – Jared Zionkowski fought his way through the field on Friday night to make a at pass with four laps remaining to claim his first checkered flag at the Clinton County Speedway.  Brandon Moser claimed his first Pro Stock win while Jeffrey Weaver of Lock Haven was victorious in the 270 and 600 Micro Sprint divisions and Maddox Smith was the winner in the Four Cylinder division.

Reed Thompson and Ian Cumens lead the field of Sprint Cars to the green flag for the start of the 25 laps main event.  Thompson took the lead with Cumens, Josh Beamer, and Garret Bard and Zionkowski in pursuit.  Thompson began to enter lapped traffic on lap number 10.  Cumens tried several times to get around Thompson and was able to make the pass on lap number fifteen.  Zionkowski, who started seventh, moved into the runner up position on lap number nineteen, with Thomson, Beamer and Lutz running in the top five.   Using the high groove of the speedway Zionkowski fought at hard battle with Cumens.  With four laps to go, Zionkowski made his moved and passed Thompson for the lead.  Zionkowski took the checkered flag over Thompson, Cumens Scott Lutz, and Ryan Lynn.  Sixth through tenth were Josh Beamer, Tyler Cochran, Garrett Bard, Dakota Schweikart and Dylan Proctor. Heat Races were won by Zionkowski and Lutz,

Brandon Moser advanced from this fourth starting spot and took the lead on the initial lap of the 15 lap Pro Stock feature.   Moser who had been close several times this season to securing a victory, dominated this event.   While Moser was extending his lead half a straight away, Bradley Benton, Robert Tressler, John Bouse and Noah Jenson were racing hard for the runner up position.   As Moser began to enter lapped traffic, Robert Tressler hit the wall and brought out the caution on lap number 13.  Moser held off any challenges for the final to two laps to win over Benton, Bouse, Jensen and Rich Fye.  Sixth through tenth were Kevin VanAmburg, Tommy Dawson, AY Schilling, Mark Bitler and Rooster Peters.  Qualifiers were won by Bouse and Tressler.

Logan Hammaker lead the opening lap of the 270 Micro Sprint feature event.  On the next circuit, Hammaker car spins and collects one other car to bring out the caution flag.   Ethan Spotts inherited the lead with Denny Rinehimer, Cameron Smith, Jeffrey Weaver and Timmy Bittner in the top five for the restart.   On lap number nine, Spotts and Rinehimer get together forcing Spotts to roll onto his side and brining out the red flag.  Lock Haven’s Jeffrey Weaver, who started nineth, inherited the lead with Smith Bitner, Kyle Stahl and Hammaker in the top five.   Weaver charged to the victory with Bitner, Smith, Stahl and Hammaker in the top five.  Sixth through tenth were Bobby Sando, Rinehimer, Mitchell Holden, Hunter Zimmerman, and Skyler Granger.  Heat race winners were Bitner and Weaver.

In the 600 Micro Sprints, Weaver led every lap to claim the victory.   The event went non-stop with Weaver’s quickest time being on lap number 5 with a 14.674 second lap.  Cody Hauck tried chase down Weaver but had to settle for second.  John and Mikey Smith both advanced from the third row and finished third and fourth respectively while Garrett Bard finished fifth.   Sixth through tenth were AJ Bast, Tyler Mowery, Mason Peter, Zach Curtis, and Lauren Huffman.  Heat races were won by John Smith and Bard.

In the Four Cylinder division Johnathon Stringfellow and Skylar Witchley paced the field for the green flag lap.  By the completion of lap number five, Maddox Smith was out in front leading Scott Englert, Witchley, Sean Wise and Michael Luther.   The leaders began to encounter lapped traffic at the halfway point.  On lap number eight the caution flag waved for Wise.   Following the restart, Smith raced to win over Englert, Sam Creveling, Skylar Witchley and Jeffrey Weaver, who competed in four of the five divisions.   Brent Shirk, Chris Orwig, Johnathon Stringfellow, Kyle Workman and Michael Luther rounded out the top ten.   Heat race winners were Smith and Michael Boring.

Kids Power-wheels races were won by Dodge Laubscher of Lamar and Christian Jensen of Nescopeck

In pre-event ceremonies, the speedway recognized Jim Kennedy as the oldest active driver at the speedway.  Friday was Kennedy’s 86th birthday.  The speedway presented Kennedy with a plaque and a birthday cake to commemorate the day.  Kennedy shared he is the second oldest active driver in the country and hopes to break that record someday. 

The Clinton County Speedway will return on Friday night, August 14th for a 5 division program featuring the Limited Late Models, Pro Stocks, 600 Micro Sprints, 270 Micro Sprints and the 4 Cylinders.  Gates will open at 5:15 pm, Hot laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.  For the latest speedway information, visit the speedway website at www.clintoncountyspeedway.com or follow the speedway on Facebook.

Sprint Cars: 1. Jared Zionkowski 2. Reed Thompson 3. Ian Cumens 4. Scott Lutz 5. Ryan Lynn 6. Josh Beamer 7. Tylor Cochran 8. Garrett Bard 9. Dakota Zimmerman 10. Dylan Proctor 11. Dale Schweikart 12. Matt Tebbs 13. Dave Guss Jr. 14. Jeffrey Weaver 15. Jim Kennedy

Pro Stocks: 1. Brandon Moser 2. Brad Benton 3. Johnny Bouse 4. Noah Jenson 5. Rich Fye 6. Kevin VanAmburg 7. Tommy Dawson 8. AY Schilling 9. Mark Bitler 10. Rooster Peters 11. Robert Tressler 12. Noah Kissinger 13. Todd Geyer 14. Jason Smith

270 Micro Sprints: 1. Jeffrey Weaver 2. Timmy Bittner 3. Cameron Smith 4. Kyler Stahl 5. Logan Hammaker 6. Bobby Sanso 7. Denny Rinehimer 8. Mitchell Holden 9. Hunter Zimmerman 10. Skyler Granger 11. Buddy Kramer 12. Jerrod Heil 13. Matt Dixon 14. James Bilger 15. Ethan Spotts 16. Dan Wertman 17. John Roberts 18. Levi Brungard

600 Micro Sprints: 1. Jeffrey Weaver 2. Cody Hauck 3. Johnny Smith 4. Mikey Smith 5. Garrett Bard 6. AJ Bast 7. Tyson Mowery 8. Mason Peters 9. Zach Curtis 10. Lauren Hoffman 11. Timmy Bittner 12. Sierra Hauck 13. Cory Brungard 14. Dermot Thompson 15. Tom Morell 16. Mitchell Holden