Maryland’s Cody Lear Victorious at Clinton County

Mill Hall, PA – Cody Lear of Manchester, MD make a 3+ hour tow to compete at the Clinton County Speedway on Friday nights in the Limited Late Models.  “We ran here a few times last year and absolutely loved the place, so we decided to run here this season.  This win will make the ride home so much better.”   Nathan Bacon won the 270 Micro Sprints,  Colton Friese won the East Coast Legends and Garrett Lucas won the 4 Cylinders.

Lear shared the front row with Lane Snook for the start of the 25 lap main event.   Lear took command of the field at the drop of the green flag.  By lap number five, Lear was leading Johnny Bouse, JR Toner, Joe Lusk, and Devin Frye.  Toner moved into second by the completion of lap number six.  The caution flag occurred on lap number ten as Dan Beatty took his car to the pit area.  

Lear led the field back to full speed, as Toner, Bouse and Frye battled for second place.   At the midway point, Lear was out in front with Bouse in second Frey in third, Toner in fourth and Jim Yoder entered the top five.   Frey passed Bouse for the second position on lap number sixteen.   With five laps remaining, Yoder moved into the third spot.   Lear led from start to finish to claim his first win at the speedway.  Frey came home second followed by Yoder, Bouse, and Matt Cochran.  Sixth through tenth were JR Toner, Matt Adams, Joe Lusk, Jennifer Lesher and Lane Snook.  Qualifying races were won by Toner, Yoder, and Bouse.

Mac Wert led the opening laps of the 270 Micro Sprint feature.  Eighth place starter Nathan Bacon worked his way to the front to contest with Wert and took the lead by lap number three.  Bobby Sanso followed Bacon, shuffling Wert back to third place. 

JT Horwart moved into third by lap number seven and began to battle with Sanso.   With three laps remaining, the caution flag came out, erasing the lead established by Bacon.  On the restart, Bacon tried to pull away as Horwart and Sanso continued their battle.   Horwart took over second place and chased Bacon to the finish line.   Bacon secured his first win of the season over Horwart, Sanso, Brady Kuhn, and Mac Wert.  Sixth through tenth were Jim Horwat, Dustin Roberts, Jillian Maurer, Corey Stabley and Logan Hammaker.  Heat races were won by JT Horwart, Hunter Zimmerman and Jillian Maurer. 

The East Coast Legends made their first appearance of the season.   Tanner Jones brought the field to the green flag.  Jones was leading Colton Fries, Justin Wagaman, Grady McGrew and Logan Jones.  Jones appeared to be on the way to claiming the win, when his car slowed and came to a stop in turn one on lap number fifteen.  Friese inherited the lead, as Jones was able to restart his car and rejoin at the rear of the field.   Friese, Wagaman and McGrew raced hard in the closing laps, as Jones rebounded and raced his way back up through the field.  At the finish, Friese claimed the victory, as Jones raced back to the front and finished second, Wagaman was third followed by Dalton Friese and McGrew.  Heats were won by Colton Friese, Jones and Cory Phillips

Jason Koch led the first two circuits of the Four Cylinder feature event.  Garrett Lucas, who started third made a pass for the lead by the completion of lap number three.   Matt Weaver was running second with Zak Kline in third.   Kline moved into second on lap number nine.   Lucas was challenged by Kline in the final laps.  Kline made one final attempt coming the checkered flag, but Garrett held on to win by .074 seconds to earn his career first victory.  Kline was second, Coty Maines was third, Larry Beachel Jr. was fourth and Terry Karicher was fifth.  Heat races were won by Kyler Stahl and Beachel.

The Clinton County Speedway returns this Friday with a four-division show presented by the Century 21, First Choice Realty.  In competition will be the RaceSaver Sprint Cars, Pro Stocks, 270 Micros and the Four Cylinders. Kids will compete in a Power Wheels race at intermission.  Gates open at 5PM and hot laps begin at 7PM. For the latest speedway information visit the speedways website at

Limited Late Models: 1. Cody Lear 2. Devin Frey 3.  Jim Yoder 4. Johnny Bouse 5. Matt Cochran 6. JR Toner 7. Matt Adams 8. Joe Lusk 9. Jennifer Lesher 10. Lane Snook 11. Nick Loffredo 12. Hunter Fulton 13. Trent Merkel 14. Lucas Adams 15. Tim Luben 16. Len Stroud Sr. 17. Danny Beatty 18. Jeremy Ohl 19. Maddox Smith DNS Joe Loffredo

270 Micros: 1. Nathan Bacon, 2. JT Horwart 3. Bobby Sanso 4. Bradyn Kuhn, 5. Mac Wert 6. Jim Horwat 7. Dustin Roberts 8. Jillian Maurer, 9. Cory Stabley 10. Logan Hammaker 11. Hunter Zimmerman 12. Jason Houtz 13. Matt Dixson 14. Dakota Brubaker 15. Paris Hewes 16. Lester Stabley 17. Grady Reinhart 18. Colton Guiher 19. Michael Petock 20. Shaun Musser 21. Chase Roberts 22. Cameron McClure 23. Mathew Dison 24 Andrew Petock DNS Mark Snyder

East Coast Legends: 1. Colton Friese 2. Tanner Joes 3. Justin Wagaman 4. Dalton Friese 5. Grady McGrew 6. Scott Musselman 7. Logan Jones 8. Cory Phillips 9. Hunter McElroy 10. Ryan Walls 11. Eric Hurst 12. Devin Friese 13. Brian Rampmeyer Jr. 14. Dave Benner 15. Andrew Morrow 16. Darren Lucas 17. Tracy Linn 18. Allen Fiddesop 19. Tyler Rampmeyer 20. Kelby Friese

Four Cylinders: 1. Garrett Lucas 2. Zak Kline 3. Coty Maines 4. Larry Beachel Jr. 5. Terry Karchiner 6. Kevin Trimpey 7. Matt Weaver 8. Kyler Stahl DNS Alyssa Snook, Kevin Smith DQ Jason Koch  

Photo  Cody Lear in victory lane at Clinton County