Rhodes tops Record-Breaking Field at Clinton County

Mill Hall, PA – Zach Rhodes of McVeyton won the RaceSaver Sprint Car season opener at the 1/3-mile, Clinton County Speedway.   45 RaceSaver Sprints were on hand, setting an all-time high number of sprint cars in competition.   Jeffrey Weaver won the 270 Micro Sprints, Tommy Dawson won the Pro Stock and Hunter Flook won the 4 Cylinders. 

Kenny Heffner and Dustin Young started on the front row of the 25 lap RaceSaver Sprints feature event.   Heffner jumped into the early lead with Young, Jeremy Kornbau, Mike Allman and Rhodes in the top five.   Rhodes moved up to fourth by the completion of lap number 2 and took third place on lap number six.  By lap number ten the leaders were closing in on the back of the field and would soon be encountering lapped traffic.  

Heffner was attempting to put Ken Duke down a lap when the two touched as they exited turn four, allowing Rhodes and Kornbau to take over first and second.  Defending track champion Timmy Bittner entered the top five on lap number thirteen.   With fifteen laps completed, Rhodes was leading Kornbau, Heffner, Young and Bittner.  A caution waved on lap number 19, with Rhodes leading Kornbau, Bittner, Heffner, and Austin Reed. 

On the restart, Kornbau passed Rhodes, but officials determined it was a jump and was put back two positions at the conclusion of the event.  Rhodes was credited with the victory over Timmy Bittner, Kornbau, Austin Reed and Heffner.  Sixth through tenth were Mike Alleman, Jeffrey Weaver, Josh Spicer, Dakota Schweikart, and Nolan Groves. 

Heat races were won by Bittner, Jacob Gamola, Rhodes  and Dakota Schweikart.  Consultation events were won by Ken Duke and Josh Beamer.

In Pro Stock competition, Tommy Dawson and Marc Bitler started on the front row.  Dawson took command of the field from the drop of the green flag.   Logan Hile, who started fifth moved into the runner up postion on lap number two and would chase Dawson to the checkered flag.  AJ Stroup who started tenth worked his way up to the third spot with Noah Kissinger and Noah Jensen rounding out the top five.  Heats were won by Dawson and AY Schilling.

Jeffrey Weaver extended his streak to three consecutive opening day victories by claiming the 270 Micro Sprint feature event.  Weaver advanced from the fifth place starting spot with Cory Stabley in pursuit followed by Tyler Clowes.  Jillian Maurer who started third, fell back to sixth, but worked her way back into the top three in the closing laps of the event.   On the final lap, Weaver held off Stabley as Maurer finished third.  Tom Quiggle and Hunter Zimmerman rounded out the top five.  Heats were won by Maurer and Clowes

Matt Weaver started on the outside of the front row and led the opening lap of the Four Cylinder main event.   As the field came to complete the second circuit, Zak Kline who was battling in the top five crashed on the front stretch to bring out the red flag.  Following the restart, Flook passed Weaver for the lead.   The remainder of the event went caution free with Flook leading the rest of the way.   Larry Beachel passed Weaver on the final lap to take the runner up postion.   Weaver finished third, Brandon Farver was fourth, and Jason Koch completed the top five.   Heat races were won by Flook and Kline.

The Clinton County Speedway returns this Friday with a four division show featuring the Limited Late Models, Pro Stocks, 270 Micros and the Four Cylinders.  Gates open at 5PM and hot laps begin at 7PM.  For the latest speedway information visit the speedways website at clintoncountyspeedway.com

Sprint Cars: 1. Zach Rhodes 2. Timmy Bittner 3. Jeremy Kornbau 4. Austin Reed 5. Kenny Heffner 6. Mike Allman 7. Jeffrey Weaver 8. Josh Spicer 9. Dakota Schweikart 10. Nolan Groves 11. Dale Schweikart 12. Johnny Smith 13. Josh Beamer 14. Mike Koehler 15. Dustin Young 16. Jim Pattock 17 Kruz Keppner 18. Jacob Gamola 19. Alan Rhodes 20. Kasey Weaver 21. Ryan Lynn 22. Paul Moyer 23. John Scarborough 24. Ken Duke, Jr.

DNS: Brandon Varner, Matt Tebbs, Reed Thompson, Wyatt Walizer, Karl Walizer, Mikey Smith, Wes Mathews, Andrew Boyer, Mariah Romig, Eric Mathiott, Mark Reynolds, Derek Swartz, Dustin Prettyleaf, Kyle Knopp, Kolby Weaver, Bill Sheehan, Erick Knopp, Hunter Hite, Chris Kreider, Owen Dimm

Pro Stocks 1, Tommy Dawson 2. Logan Hile 3. AJ Stroup 4. Noah Kissinger 5. Noah Jensen 6. AY Schilling 7. Rich Fye 8. Marc Bitler 9. Larry Knight 10. Ronald Ergott 11. Brett Gordner 12. Rodney Wagner

270 Micros: 1. Jeffrey Weaver 2. Cory Stabley 3. Jillian Maurer 4. Tom Quiggle 5. Hunter Zimmerman 6. Tyler Clowes 7. Andrew Petock 8. Mark Snyder 9. Colton Guiher 10. Matt Dixon 11. Tucker Byers 12. Trenton Beason 13. Dustin Robers 14. Mac Wert DNS Lester Stabley, Chase Hauck

Fout Cylinders: 1. Hunter Flook  2. Larry Beachel Jr 3. Matt Weaver 4. Brandon Farver 5. Jason Koch 6. Garrett Lucas 7, Terry Karichner 8. Allen Robinson 9. Ken Smith 10. Michal Green 11. Zak Kline 12. Brett Shirk 13. Jon Stringfellow DNS Tim Teneych