Ryan Zook Adds Clinton County’s Stroud Memorial to His Resume

Mill Hall, PA – Ryan Zook of Mifflintown claimed the coveted Lenny Stroud Jr. Memorial on Friday Night at the Clinton County Speedway. The win was worth $1,200 and was Zook’s first career victory at the 1/3-mile oval. AJ Stroup of Middleburg won the Pro Stocks, Tyler Clowes of Selinsgrove won his second consecutive 270 Micro Feature and Matt Weaver of Spring Mills won the Four-Cylinder feature event.

Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove and Ryan Zook led the Limited Late Model field to the green flag of the Len Stroud Jr. Memorial. Zook utilized the outside lane to get around Yoder as the duo exited the second turn. As the field raced through turns three and four, a car got sideways, causing a six-car pileup blocking the speedway. All drivers were ok.

Upon the restart, Zook again took the lead exiting turn number two. With five laps complete, Zook was leading Yoder, Jennifer Lesher, Andrew Yoder and Larry Baer. The caution came out on lap number six, when Andrew Yoder stopped with a flat tire. His crew was able to make the tire change and he rejoined at the rear of the field. Two laps later Andrew Yoder was involved in a second caution, when he and Wayne Shaffer got together at the exit of turn two.

Defending track champion Matt Cochran who was involved in the opening lap incident had raced his way back up to the top five by lap number nine. At the midway mark of the race, Zook was leading Jim Yoder, Cochran, Lisher, and Baer. By lap number 14, Nick Loffredo had entered the top five.

The final caution of the event occurred on lap number 16. Zook was flawless on the restart to hold off Yoder. With five laps remaining Zook began to stretch out his lead over Yoder, Cochran, Loffredo and Baer. Zook took the checkered flag by a margin of 2.5 seconds over Yoder, Cochran, Loffredo and Baer. Sixth trough tenth were Cody Lear, Jennifer Lesher, Maddox Smtih, Lucas Adams and Tim Luben. Qualifying races were won by Zook and Maddox Smith.

Brent Gorder and Noah Kissinger were the front row starters for the Pro Stock feature event. Kissinger took the early lead over Gordner and third place starter AJ Stroup. The caution flag waved on lap number three for Ron Ergott. Following the restart, Stroup charged forward to take the lead from Kissinger. At the midway point, Stroup was leading Kissinger, Cory Long, AY Schilling and Gordner. The remainder of the event went caution free, allowing Stroup the ability to extend his lead. At the checkered flag Stroup had a 1.229 second lead over Kissinger, Long, Schilling and Gorder. Sixth through tenth were Larry Knight, Kris Orwig Sr., Rich Fye, Logan Hile, and Ronald Ergott. Heat races were won by Schilling and Gordner

Jillian Maurer started on the pole of the 270 Micro Sprint feature event and led the first four laps. By the completion of lap number five, fifth place starter, Tyler Clowes took over the lead with Cory Stabley, Hunter Zimmerman, and Michael Petock running in the top five. Zimmerman passed Stabley on the next circuit to take over the third postion. With five laps remaining, Clowes continued to lead Maurer, Zimmerman, Stabley and Petock. Petock took the fourth postion from Stabley on lap number eleven. Clowes continued to lead the final laps to win his second consecutive feature event. Mauer was second followed by Zimmerman, Petock, and Nathan Bacon. Sixth through tenth were Logan Hammaker, Cory Stabley, Bobby Sanso, Chase Roberts and Matt Dixson. Heats were won by Petock and Sanso.

Jason Koch led the first lap of the Four Cylinder feature and was passed by Tim Teneyck who led the second lap. By lap three, Matt Weaver took over the top position. As Teneyck, Zak Kline and Kyler Stahl were all battling for postion, Teneyck’s car appeared to have something break as his right front dug into the track at the exit of turn four and rolled over, bringing out the red flag. Teneyck was ok. Weaver would hold off the challenges of Kline on the restart. By lap six, Weaver led Kline, Stahl, Hunter Flook, and Koch. Coty Maines moved into the top five on lap number eleven. Weaver edged out Kline for the win, the second of his career. Third through tenth were Stahl, Flook, Maines, Koch, Larry Beachel Jr., Garrett Lucas, Alyssa Snook and Summer Beachel. Heat races were won by Kline and Flook.

The Clinton County Speedway returns this Friday with a four division show presented by the Williamsport Crosscutters. Staff from the Crosscutters as well as their beloved mascot, Boomer will be greeting fans. The first 1,000 fans will receive a ticket to a Crosscutter baseball game. In competition will be the RaceSaver Sprint Cars, Pro Stocks, 270 Micros and the Four Cylinders. It will also be photograph and autograph night with an opportunity for fans to meet the drivers during intermission. Gates open at 5PM and hot laps begin at 7PM.

Limited Late Models: 1. Ryan Zook, 2. Jim Yoder 3. Matt Cochran 4. Nick Loffredo 5. Larry Baer 6. Cody Lear 7. Jennifer Lesher 8. Maddox Smith 9. Lucas Adams 10. Tim Luben 11. Danny Beatty 12. Len Stroud Sr. 13. Wayne Shaffer 14. Andrew Yoder 15. Doug Surra 16, Joe Loffredo 17. Johnny Bouse 18. JR Tonder 19. Hunter Fulton DNS Joe Lusk, Troy Bennett, Matt Adams

Pro Stocks 1. AJ Stroup 2. Noah Kissinger 3. Cory Long 4. AY Schilling 5. Brent Gordner 6. Larry Knight 7. Kris Orwig Sr. 8. Rich Fye 7. Marc Bitler 9. Logan Hile 10. Ronald Ergott

270 Micros: 1. Tyler Clowes 2. Jillian Maurer, 3. Hunter Zimmerman 4. Michael Petock 5. Nathan Bacon 6. Logan Hammaker 7 Cory Stabley 8. Bobby Sanso 9. Chase Roberts 10. Matt Dixson 11. Garrison Zook 12. Cameron McClure 13. Mathew Dixson 14 Paris Hewes 15. Lester Stabley 16. Colton Guiher 17. Dustin Roberts 18. Tom Quiggle 19 Mac Wert DNS Mark Snyder

Four Cylinders: 1. Matt Weaver 2. Zak Kline 3. Kyler Stahl 4. Hunter Flook 5. Coty Maines 6. Jason Kock 7. Larry Beachel Jr 8. Garrett Lucas 9. Alyssa Snook 10. Summer Beachel 11. Ken Smith 12. Tim Teneyck 13. Kevin Trimpey